Shopping Cart

No
Bealtaine - mug
  • Bealtaine - mug
  • Bealtaine - mug

Bealtaine - mug



In ancient times there were four main festivals to mark the passage of each year, Imbolc (February 1st), marking the beginning of Spring, Bealtaine (May 1st), the start of summer, Lughnasa (August 1st), the first harvest and Samhain (October 31st -November 1st).
Eriu, after whom Ireland (Éire) is named, was one part of a triple Goddess, along with her sisters Banba and Fodhla. Ériu had close association with Uisneach the Centre of Ireland and a sacred place, where the five ancient provinces met. Here we see her with the fire of Bealtaine as it was on Uisneach the first flame of that feast was lit, to be followed by subsequent fires throughout the land. Also at Uisneach is the famous Catstone, a huge rock formation under which it is said she is buried.

Illustration from an original by Margaret McKenna


Dimension (L x W x H) 105 x 105 x 115 Millimetre
Weight 350 Gram